Weird Souvenirs

alessi stashLast month I wrote about how I was collecting grocery store stickers in pursuit of some new cutlery. Well, as you can see above, the fruits of my autocollant collecting labours paid off and our family now has a new set of Alessi cutlery. It was a full family affair with the kids keenly wanting to come shopping to experience, first hand, the erratic distribution of stickers. The kids also were diligent keepers of the stickers ensuring every single one made its way into the collection booklet that we had to present to earn our discount.

I laughed when I looked carefully at this photo - it's like where's Waldo with the self-portrait in the soup spoon.

I laughed when I looked carefully at this photo – it’s like where’s Waldo with the self-portrait in the soup spoon.

The official price per place setting, once I traded in all of my stickers was 8.99€ but then when I gave them my Carrefour card (it’s an affinity card for collecting points) I got 16€ credit for my next month’s grocery purchases. So, all in, we’re going home with a whole whack of groovy Italian-designed cutlery for 56€.

Last week we had Canadian friends visiting and the mum was asking me about what kinds of things I was going to bring home to remember our time in Provence? A whole bunch of Italian cutlery courtesy of Carrefour was the first thing that came to mind.

6 thoughts on “Weird Souvenirs

  1. Look forward to seeing this tableware, congratulations on coupon shopping! Anything else you can pick up before coming home? Enjoy Barcelona, the hotel looks great. Cheers Sheila

    Sent from my iPad

    • Thanks for the offer – I’ll send my list through email so I am not mercilessly mocked by my friends and family 🙂

  2. We have had similar experiences in Singapore and Hong Kong, and now have suitcase and rucksack through the maid collecting stamps. The latest collection is going to be kitchen knives.

    • Ah, don’t tell my husband you can get luggage with grocery store stickers. I am going to pay closer attention at home

  3. Try explaining to the security staff at the check in Lyon airport that the bag of Type 55 flour you have in your back pack (along with other domestic items) actually is flour as you cannot get that type of flour at home and you really, really, really need it to make that one superb baguette. Fortunately, it was let through. I’d like to think it was because they were French and they understand the place of food in society.

    • I’m glad they let your stash through. I’d offer to bring some back for you but I think we’re going to be pushing our weight and bag limit!

Leave a comment